Weekend in Tallinn IV

Great job Triin & Helina!! Decent job Uve & Allan! Fantastic job Aisma & Egle!

Four teams from our debate club went to Tallinn IV last weekend to compete with other ~40 teams from UK, Germany, the Netherlands, Estonia, Lithuania, Finland, Russia, Slovenia and Serbia (I guess that’s it).

All our teams did pretty well and finished in the middle / high middle of the tab. Moreover, SSER LMT A consisting of Aisma & Egle (Murauskaite not Sovaite, Uve…) managed to break into the semis as the eighth team (having the same amount of points as few other teams, 9, but having higher speaker points) and be the only team from the Baltics doing this šŸ˜›

In the Semi Final our girls met with three excellent teams (one from Leiden, another from Helsinki, the last one from Oxford) and managed to go through to Grand Final together with the team from Oxford. This was the same team winning the competition and leaving Aisma & Egle second – no one told they’re second, but let me just believe in it šŸ™‚ Great job, ladies!

Let’s know discuss things that are of a lower importance.. First, on the second day (the morning of which is hard to remember) we almost got one team of the competition. It was rather a great shock for me; however, I must admit that we had to admit some responsibility for this as we didn’t give the most precise and up to date information about our judges. At the end it seemed that we lack one šŸ˜¦

Second, no one actually knows (I didn’t get the possibility to say it out loud) but it was our club responsible for most of tab delays on the second day šŸ˜‰ I must admit that we would have liked if it wasn’t true, but sometimes shit happens..

Third, my incredible judging experience within the tournament. I only came in to the second round as I forgot my passport as home (but that’s already a different story). I got to judge with Alex and Ruta. It was Alex, the CA – I found that out only after the round but early enough not to do anything crazy šŸ™‚ Still I guess I didn’t show enough skills as I ended up chairing the bin room during the last round šŸ˜€ At the same time bin room proved to be better than I expected it to be – way to go guys!! Maybe the same second round with Alex ended my competition after the prelims and prolonged it for Jurij (who came in only for the fifth round) to go on and judge both – the semi & grand final.. On the other hand, social fairness should be respected as I believe that it would have been a pity if Jurij would have come all the way to Tallinn only for a single round!

Fourth, Eriks fought well even though there was an eye monster willing to get him to fall! I hope that you will manage to get well again, Eriks. But this is already another story..

At the end of the day I believe that:
– the competition was great, with awesome organization team, and high enough debating quality;
– Reval Hotel chain is nice: especially the bed is rather comfortable even though I had a weird dreaming / nightmare experience there (yet another story)..
– our teams can do it, I mean that they can debate (even if there are some aspects we should still work on)
– Uve & Allan still hate that first AP round I judged for them.. šŸ˜‰

My Tallinn IV 2007 Debate Flows

3 responses to “Weekend in Tallinn IV

  1. Martins, once again you got things confused šŸ™‚
    Firstly, Uve & Allan did as much as Me and Helina, why are we not getting any credit? šŸ™‚
    Secondly, there were teams also from Slovenia and Serbia.
    Thirdly, Jurij didn’t judge semis but only the final. Not that I think he was not worth it, the other was around, but just for the sake of correctness I had to comment šŸ™‚

  2. Triin, everything is corrected now šŸ™‚ Still, I believe that you didn’t know what happens in your tournament – as Jurij did judge the semi round šŸ™‚

    Meanwhile I have discovered that due to Justas & his illness, now at least 4 debate club members are sick.. Funny, isn’t it?

  3. no it is not funny šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

